Weinakademiker h.c.

For their merits in the wine education, among others in cooperation with the Weinakademie Österreich, the following persons were appointed as Weinakademiker h.c. (chronological order):

Jancis Robinson MW 1994

For her decades of work as a wine journalist as an icon of wine journalism and the BBC series Wines of the world with her own contribution to Austria.

John Casson MW 1994

As executive director of the IMW, he received the title for the achievements of the IMW in international wine education.

David Wrigley MW 1994

As Head of Awards of the WSET for his services in the establishment of the WSET Diploma at the Weinakademie Österreich.

Lynne Sherriff MW 1995

As global wine educator and first MW lecturer at the Weinakademie as well as international ambassador of the Weinakademie Austria.

Gareth Lawrence 1998

For his merits in the implementation of the German WSET Diploma in Wines and Spirits at the Weinakademie as a marker of the first years.

Arne Ronold MW 1999

The Norwegian Robert Parker was one of the first to publish about Austrian wines in Scandinavia. For his work and merits within the project team for the MW Symposium in Vienna 2002.

Prof. Dr. Monika Christmann 2001

For her many years of training at the Weinakademie and her services in establishing cooperation with the Geisenheim University of Applied Sciences.

Philipp Schwander MW 2002

For his services to Austrian wine in Switzerland and his training at the Weinakademie Österreich.

Dr. Franz Fischler 2007

The Austrian Weinakademie opened its doors in 1991 as the Minister of Agriculture, and later became the EU's Commissioner for Agriculture, supporting it benevolently.

Frank Smulders MW 2011

For his merits as a long-time lecturer at the Weinakademie and as a cooperation partner of the Weinakademie qualification in the Netherlands and Belgium.

Prof. Dr. Hannes Schultz 2012

For his many years of training at the Weinakademie Österreich and his services in further cooperation with the new Geisenheim University of Applied Sciences.

Konstantinos Lazarakis MW 2012

For his services during the MW course in Rust and the establishment of the English WSET Diploma at the Weinakademie.

Marchese Piero Antinori 2015

For his services to the cultural heritage of wine worldwide and in particular for establishing the cooperation with the Weinakademie with the Istituto Grandi Marchi in Italy.

Prof. Dr. Klaus Schaller 2016

For his achievements in international teaching and research and in particular in establishing the cooperation between the Weinakademie and the Geisenheim Research Station in 2001.

Anton Kollwentz 2022

As top winemaker representing the Austrian winegrowers and his great support for the international training activities at the Austrian Weinakademie and in particular for the many years of cooperation within the framework of the 'Renommierten Weingüter Burgenland'.

Willi Klinger 2022

For his many years of international lecturing at the Wine Academy and his commitment as Chairman of the Supervisory Board and, most recently, as a supporter and cooperative partner at Wein&Co

Hans Bättig

For his services in establishing the Weinakademiker training in Switzerland and his general contribution to international wine education, DI Hans Bättig was awarded the title of Weinakademiker h.c. by the Board of Trustees of the Weinakademie Österreich. This title was first awarded to Jancis Robinson MW in 1994 and since then to great wine personalities of the wine world. After Philipp Schwander MW (2002), he is the second Swiss among the now 18 international Weinakademiker h.c..